54 Rams Named to Spring 2017 MASCAC All-Academic Team

Vaughn Guetens
Vaughn Guetens

Westfield, Mass. — A total of 798 student-athletes, including 54 from Framingham State University, have been honored by the Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference (MASCAC) with selection to the league's Spring 2017 All-Academic Team as announced by MASCAC Commissioner Angela Baumann.

Women's lacrosse leads the way with 15 honorees, while ice hockey follows right behind with 14.  Women's basketball landed eight on the All-Academic Team, while men's basketball and softball each placed six and baseball added five honorees.      

 "MASCAC student-athletes finding success in the classroom is a crucial part of our conference and the NCAA's philosophy," said Commissioner Baumann. "The student-athletes continue to excel at a high level in all aspects of their collegiate life whether in the classroom or on the field of play."

Honorees from the 2017 women's lacrosse team include seniors Claryssa Cunniff (Psychology) and  Jessica Graham (Sociology), juniors Kimmy Foley (Psychology), Mallory Fredericks (Global Studies) and Kristen Keenan (Psychology), sophomores Indigo Fox Tree-McGrath (Studio Art) and Shae Riley (Accounting) and freshmen Caitlin Baril (Management), Casey Bradley (Elementary Education), Gretchen Burgholzer (Marketing), Emily Burnett (Sociology), Perin Genaway (Biology), Rylee Holmes (Communication Arts), Nicole Pacheco (Criminology) and Hannah Rueger (Biology).

Members of the ice hockey squad honored include seniors Cam Coburn (Business & IT), Vaughn Guetens (Accounting) and Alessio Muggli (Management), juniors Keith Barnaby (Management), Tyler Colacchio (Management), Carl Narkestam (Marketing) and Greg Stoya (Management), sophomores Adam Calabrese (Computer Science), Ryan McDonough (Undeclared), Jake McKinnon (Criminology) and Brendan Pascarella (Economics), and freshmen Parker Cowand (Sports Management), Ryan Donohue (Management) and Greg Harney (Management).

The women's basketball team placed seniors Monta Connolly (Sociology), Sarah Palace (Sociology) and Alycia Rackliffe (Food Science), junior Quinn O'Connell (Communication Arts), sophomore Tiphani Harris (Early Childhood Education), and freshmen Mallory DeFeo (Undeclared), Mary Kate O'Day (Undeclared) and Emily Velozo (Elementary Education) on the All-Academic Team.

Honorees from the 2017 MASCAC Championship softball squad include senior Rachel Desrochers (Mathematics), juniors Megan Downing (Criminology), Dayna Marchant (Economics) and Jessica Pietersen (Biology), and sophomores Kelsi Gunarathne (Economics) and Lauren Salisbury (Nutrition).

Honorees from the men's basketball team include seniors Tony Alexandre (Criminology), Daniel Gould (Management), Patrick Gould (History) and Tim Mangano (Criminology), junior Ben Roache (Management) and freshman Ed Kelly (Computer Science), while baseball placed juniors Matt Brockett (Management), Kyle Pileski (Management) and Chris Riga (Psychology), and sophomores Alex Erwin (Management) and Blake Waters (Finance).

Student-athletes that compete in championship varsity sports offered by each of the MASCAC institutions during the course of the spring 2017 athletic season and have achieved a 3.20 cumulative or semester-based grade point average during the semester are eligible for selection to the Spring All-Academic Team.

The Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference, the nation's oldest Division III men's and women's playing conference, has a rich and storied tradition of competitive success while celebrating excellence in the classroom.  MASCAC member schools include Bridgewater State University, Fitchburg State University, Framingham State University, MCLA, Massachusetts Maritime Academy, Salem State University, Westfield State University and Worcester State University.  Two other institutions, the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth and Plymouth State University, are affiliate members of the conference in the sports of men's ice hockey and football, while Western Connecticut State University joined the conference as an affiliate member in football beginning in 2013.