51 Rams Named to Fall 2017 MASCAC All-Academic Team

51 Rams Named to Fall 2017 MASCAC All-Academic Team

Westfield, Mass. — A total of 737 student-athletes, including 51 from Framingham State University, have been honored by the Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference (MASCAC) with selection to the league's Fall 2017 All-Academic Team as announced earlier today by MASCAC Commissioner Angela Baumann.

Women's soccer leads the way with 13 student-athletes honored, while men's soccer follows with nine.  The field hockey squad placed eight student-athletes on the All-Academic team, while women's cross country and football had seven honorees apiece.  Volleyball saw six player recognized, while men's cross country placed one.    

"The MASCAC had another successful semester as reflected by the large number of student-athletes recognized on the 2017 MASCAC Fall All-Academic Team," Commissioner Baumann said. "Finding success in the classroom is equally as important as success on the field of play which our student-athletes have shown time and time again. I am extremely proud of their academic accomplishments."

Honorees from the 2017 women's soccer squad include seniors Kaelen Larocque (English), Haley McKay (Sociology) and Shelli Nardi (Psychology), juniors Kayla Alstrom (Food & Nutrition), Hannah Kane (Psychology), Jennifer Stevens (Psychology), Melissa Sybertz (Food & Nutrition) and Olivia Warila (Business Management), and sophomores Erin Angelillo (Food & Nutrition), Annalyse Arnold (Psychology), Stephanie Beaumont (Business Management), Olivia Neiswanger (Psychology) and Myah Powers (Elementary Education).

Members of the men's soccer team honored are juniors Maxwell Amoah (Sociology), Justin Hansen (Criminology), Lucas Medeiros (Management) and Ian Plant (Environmental Science), sophomores Scott Christensen (Undeclared), Jesse Guillette (Marketing), Bryce Nardizzi (Undeclared) and Dennis Siaw (Criminology) and freshman Mike Filiere (Undeclared).

Field hockey placed seniors Domini Batista (Political Science), Amie Souza (Early Childhood Education) and Brianna Spagna (Psychology), juniors Meaghann Ackerman (Criminology) and Sydney Buono (Communication Arts), and freshmen Hannah Cairney (Elementary Education), Gina Crosby (Elementary Education) and Marissa Dias (Marketing) on the All-Academic team.

Honorees from women's cross country include senior Morgan Perry (Food & Nutrition), sophomores Dana Arburr (Food & Nutrition), Beatrice Donoghue (Fashion Design), Amena El-Sayed (Finance), Lauren Maniscalco (Food & Nutrition) and Siobhan Senier (Communication Arts) and freshman Eri Takahashi (Accounting).

The 2017 Co-MASCAC Champion football team placed seniors Tom Burns (Mathematics), Dan Feeley (Criminology), Joe Wilder (Biology) and Cody Wlasuk (Management), and sophomores Alex Barthelemy (Management), Hakeem McKoy (Accounting) and Adam Wojenski (Finance).

Members of the volleyball team honored include seniors Vicki Anderson (Elementary Education), Lindsay Boyle (Sociology) and Casie Thurber (Biology), junior Mackenzie Whalen (Psychology), sophomore Brenna Marquis (English) and freshman Morgan Fialla (Food Science), while freshman Logan Cochrane (Management) was the lone honoree from the men's cross country team.

Student-athletes that compete in championship varsity sports offered by each of the MASCAC institutions during the course of the fall 2017 athletic season and have achieved a 3.20 cumulative or semester-based grade point average during the semester are eligible for selection to the Fall All-Academic Team.

The Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference, the nation's oldest Division III men's and women's playing conference, has a rich and storied tradition of competitive success while celebrating excellence in the classroom.  MASCAC member schools include Bridgewater State University, Fitchburg State University, Framingham State University, MCLA, Massachusetts Maritime Academy, Salem State University, Westfield State University and Worcester State University.  Two other institutions, the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth and Plymouth State University, are affiliate members of the conference in the sports of men's ice hockey and football, while Western Connecticut State University joined the conference as an affiliate member in football beginning in 2013.