Four Rams Named to 2012 All-MASCAC Baseball Team

Matt DiCato
Matt DiCato

Buzzards Bay, Mass. – The Framingham State University baseball team has placed four players on the 2012 Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference (MASCAC) All-Conference baseball squad in voting conducted by the conference's eight coaches and announced by the MASCAC this morning.  Sophomore pitcher Matt DiCato (Winthrop, Mass.) and junior outfielder Will Crofton (Hopkinton, Mass) have been selected to the first team, while senior designated hitter Pedro Acevedo (Fall River, Mass.) and senior outfielder Chris Blydell (Lynn, Mass.) have been named to the second team.  All four players earn all-conference honors for the first time.

In eight appearances this season, DiCato has gone 6-2 with a 2.53 ERA.  In 46 1/3 innings of work he has surrendered just 13 earned runs while striking out a team-best 44.  Opponents are hitting just .249 against DiCato who also has a complete game and a shutout on the year.

Crofton was the Rams offensive leader for most of the season hitting .381 with 32 runs scored, 11 doubles and 30 RBI. Crofton has 56 hits on the year with a .456 slugging percentage and a .462 on base percentage.  In 39 games Crofton has made just one error and has a .976 fielding percentage.

In his senior season Acevedo was among the team leaders in hitting as well as he batted .348 with 13 doubles and three homeruns. Acevedo is tied for the team lead with 31 RBI on the year and has a .539 slugging percentage.

Blydell, who is a two sport athlete for the Rams, picked up 47 hits during his senior season as he hit .290.  Blydell led the Rams with 14 doubles, a triple and three homeruns.  He was a perfect 9-for-9 in stolen base attempts and has a .952 fielding percentage.

The Rams set a new school record for victories in a season as they finished the regular season 25-14 en route to the third seed in the 2012 MASCAC Baseball Championship.

The Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference, the nation's oldest Division III men's and women's playing conference, has a rich and storied tradition of competitive success while celebrating excellence in the classroom.  MASCAC member schools include Bridgewater State University, Fitchburg State University, Framingham State University, MCLA, Massachusetts Maritime Academy, Salem State University, Westfield State University and Worcester State University.  Two other institutions, the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth and Plymouth State University, are affiliate members of the conference in the sport of men's ice hockey.