82 Rams Named to Winter/Spring 2019 MASCAC All-Academic Team

82 Rams Named to Winter/Spring 2019 MASCAC All-Academic Team

Westfield, Mass. — A total of 792 student-athletes, including 82 from Framingham State University, have been honored by the Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference (MASCAC) with selection to the league's Winter/Spring 2019 All-Academic Team as announced earlier by MASCAC Commissioner Angela Baumann.

Men's ice hockey and women's lacrosse lead the way with 20 student-athletes honored from each squad, while women's basketball and baseball are not far behind with 12 and 11 student-athletes honored, respectively.  Softball follows with 10 honorees, while women's outdoor track and field had eight honorees and men's basketball had one honoree.

 "I want to commend all the MASCAC student-athletes for earning a spot on the 2019 Winter/Spring MASCAC All-Academic Team", said Commissioner Baumann. "The achievements of our student-athletes in the classroom is the cornerstone of the MASCAC. Seeing them succeed in both the classroom and field of play is a testament to their hard work throughout the year."  

Members of the 2019 MASCAC Regular Season Champion women's lacrosse squad include seniors Tess Destino (Psychology), Bailey Donelly (Sports Management), Indigo Fox Tree-McGrath (Studio Art) and Shae Riley (Finance), juniors Casey Bradley (Elementary Education), Jenn Buckley (Elementary Education), Emily Burnett (Sociology), Audrey Duhaime (Criminology), Grace Gamache (Elementary Education), Perin Genaway (Biology), Nicole Pacheco (Criminology) and Jacey Salvie (Accounting), sophomores Maggie Destino (Fashion Merchandising), Alissa Marino (Criminology), Hanna McMahon (Communication Arts), Jenna McMahon (Communication Arts) and Mikayla Seavey (Environmental Science), and freshmen Chandler Farley (Business & IT), Jordyn O'Boyle (Criminology) and Tara Palermo (Criminology).

Honorees from the ice hockey team include seniors Adam Calabrese (Computer Science) and Ryan McDonough (Finance), junior Greg Harney (Sports Management), sophomores Soren Colstrup (English), Mike Gennello (Communication Arts), Nolan Greene (Finance), Brandon Hamner (Undeclared), Ryan Paul (Undeclared), Jack Pierson (Management) and Matt Siegel (Management), and freshmen Jacob Garman (Accounting), Jeffrey Gratz (Biology), Alex Groner (Criminology), Jacob Haynes (Marketing), Brian Kozek (Undeclared), Trevor Lewandoski (Health & Wellness), Justin Movalli (Computer Science), Chris Rupp (Management), Rick Walsh (Business & IT) and Luke Whalen (Criminology).

Members of the women's basketball team recognized with all-academic honors include juniors Mallory DeFeo (English), Mary Kate O'Day (Sociology), Julia Sanborn (Education), and Emily Velozo (Elementary Education), sophomores Camille Desrochers (Mathematics), Kathy Jaracz (Food & Nutrition), Sydney Rogiers (Undeclared) and Bryanna Santos (Psychology), and freshmen Liana Cunningham (Mathematics), Rai Edwards-Thomas (Biology), Krysta Padellaro (Undeclared) and Brandee Thomas (Food & Nutrition).

Honorees from the 2019 baseball squad include seniors Kyle Dembrowski (Sports Management), Alex Erwin (Management), Anthony Morrissey (Management) and Blake Waters (Accounting), juniors Kyle Coolidge (Biology), Andrew Curtis (Criminology) and Kevin Scerra (Geography), sophomore Mike Tucci (Political Science) and freshmen Gino DeSimone (Finance), Justin Kett (Criminology) and Jake Normile (Management).

Members of the 2019 MASCAC Tournament Champion softball squad who earned all-academic honors include senior Kelsi Gunarathne (Economics), juniors Kyla Johnson (Management) and Kaylea Sherman (Early Childhood Education), sophomores Grace Caughey (Management), Camille Desrochers (Mathematics), Marissa Vellucci (Elementary Education) and Victoria Ziner (Undeclared), and freshmen Farrah Adam (Studio Art), Kammarie Pelland (Undeclared), and Laela Pepin (Chemistry).

Women's outdoor track and field honorees include juniors Dana Arburr (Food & Nutrition), Valerie Christian (Marketing), Amena El-Sayed (Finance), Harriet Koramoah (Political Science), Charys Lopes-Dishmey (Sociology) and Julia Sanborn (Education), and freshmen Kathryn Hayes (Biochemistry) and Eliza Weisse (Food & Nutrition), while freshman Jared Gordon-Anderson (Communication Arts) was the lone honoree from the men's basketball team.

Student-athletes that compete in championship varsity sports offered by each of the MASCAC institutions during the course of the winter and spring 2019 athletic season and have achieved a 3.20 cumulative or semester-based grade point average during the semester are eligible for selection to the Winter/Spring All-Academic Team.

The Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference, the nation's oldest Division III men's and women's playing conference, has a rich and storied tradition of competitive success while celebrating excellence in the classroom.  MASCAC member schools include Bridgewater State University, Fitchburg State University, Framingham State University, MCLA, Massachusetts Maritime Academy, Salem State University, Westfield State University and Worcester State University.  Two other institutions, the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth and Plymouth State University, are affiliate members of the conference in the sports of men's ice hockey and football, while Western Connecticut State University joined the conference as an affiliate member in football beginning in 2013.